Copy all data from one BO to another one

If you have questions or if you want to share your opinion about Aware IM post your message on this forum
BLOMASKY

Copy all data from one BO to another one

Post by BLOMASKY »

I am using MSSQL and I have legacy data that I want to bring into Aware so here is my plan:
1) Create a new BO using the persistence External (which will retrieve all of the columns)

2) Create a 2nd BO the same way, then change the Persistance back to AwareIM. Now I have 2 objects with the same structure.

3) use a process to read all of the rows in the external table and insert them into the Aware table.

so, my question is, what is the most efficient syntax (or even the 2nd most efficient one, since I am a NOOB) to do this?

Thanks
Bruce
BenHayat

Re: Copy all data from one BO to another one

Post by BenHayat »

Bruce, I've put together this PDF, gathered the info from User Guide in one place related to CRUD Actions. It can help you decide what direction to go.
Attachments
Actions in Aware.zip
(228.29 KiB) Downloaded 474 times
customaware

Post by customaware »

BLOMASKY wrote:I am using MSSQL and I have legacy data that I want to bring into Aware so here is my plan:
1) Create a new BO using the persistence External (which will retrieve all of the columns)

2) Create a 2nd BO the same way, then change the Persistance back to AwareIM. Now I have 2 objects with the same structure.

3) use a process to read all of the rows in the external table and insert them into the Aware table.

so, my question is, what is the most efficient syntax (or even the 2nd most efficient one, since I am a NOOB) to do this?

Thanks
Bruce
Hi Bruce,
I would do it a similar way for Item 1 & 2
But, then I would remove the Attributes from the new Aware BO that you no longer need.... such as superfluous keys or indexes that were only there because you needed them in your old environment.

OK.... Legacy BO is called Legacy, New BO is called AwareData

In a process...