Google maps & SSL

If you think that something doesn't work in Aware IM post your message here
Post Reply
RLJB
Posts: 914
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Google maps & SSL

Post by RLJB »

We have maps working extensively on our Dev server (no SSL cert for https) BUT when we publish to our dev server/s the maps do not appear. The only difference we can guess at is that our prod servers (we have 3) all have SSL certs.

There is:
- no errors in log
- nothing displayed on form it's just blank
- nothing displayed on a presentation it's just blank as well

Can anyone confirm if google maps works with SSL?

Tks
Rod. Aware 8.6 (latest build), Developer Edition, on OS Linux (Ubuntu) using GUI hosted on AWS EC2, MYSQL on AWS RDS
Rennur
Posts: 1191
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:13 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by Rennur »

Is it the same on all browsers?
Rennur
Posts: 1191
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:13 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by Rennur »

Found these articles

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1201 ... over-https

Maps APIs over SSL now available to all
http://googlegeodevelopers.blogspot.com ... o-all.html

Could it be an internal issue with the way Google Maps are integrated with AwareIM?
RLJB
Posts: 914
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by RLJB »

Rennur - that was an interesting suggestion!

Surprisingly it works on IE (v11)... but doesn't work on:

Chrome
Firefox

Support - any ideas to solve this?
Rod. Aware 8.6 (latest build), Developer Edition, on OS Linux (Ubuntu) using GUI hosted on AWS EC2, MYSQL on AWS RDS
RLJB
Posts: 914
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by RLJB »

Ok, the issue is because AwareIM is calling the Google map from a non secure url and therefore the content is not secure and "good" browsers will not display the map. EG Google Chrome will put a shield in the top right to notify you of insecure content on the page, but allow you to click it and load the content.

Support - ideally Aware should always use the secure content (use the https
googel url) as in the reverse it will not through an error (eg having secure content in a non secure page) - maybe something for the 'to do' on the next release?
Rod. Aware 8.6 (latest build), Developer Edition, on OS Linux (Ubuntu) using GUI hosted on AWS EC2, MYSQL on AWS RDS
pbrad
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by pbrad »

I also concur that it would be great if the built in google maps feature could call https rather than http. It is unusable otherwise for most people.

Thanks,
Pete
Pete Bradstreet
Contract developer of commercialized applications

AwareIM Ver. 8.2
ab042
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:11 am

Post by ab042 »

Any work around that we can modify one of the awareIM files so that it always uses a secure connection?

It is unusable in a production system the way it is.

SUPPORT: Please advise
pbrad
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by pbrad »

I'm wondering if it might be:

initGoogleMaps: function ()
{
// load the appropriate file - the call back indicates a function that will fire the event
var fileName = "http://maps.googleapis.com/maps/api/js? ... =gm_loaded";
if (this.isDynamicFileLoaded (fileName))


in awareApp.js

Cheers,
Pete
Pete Bradstreet
Contract developer of commercialized applications

AwareIM Ver. 8.2
hpl123
Posts: 2607
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:13 pm
Location: Scandinavia

Custom

Post by hpl123 »

pbrad wrote:I'm wondering if it might be:

initGoogleMaps: function ()
{
// load the appropriate file - the call back indicates a function that will fire the event
var fileName = "http://maps.googleapis.com/maps/api/js? ... =gm_loaded";
if (this.isDynamicFileLoaded (fileName))


in awareApp.js

Cheers,
Pete
Sounds like it could be. There are also some code in the aware_full.js and aware.js. Search for "google".
Henrik (V8 Developer Ed. - Windows)
pbrad
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by pbrad »

Hi,
I'm not sure whether you need to make the change in all of the js files or only one but I can confirm that if you change it in all three, Google maps works in an https environment and does not break the ssl lock.

Support, would it be possible to make this change permanently in the relevant js files so that we don't have to make the change on each new version?

Thanks,
Pete
Pete Bradstreet
Contract developer of commercialized applications

AwareIM Ver. 8.2
pbrad
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by pbrad »

Sorry, I guess that I should have clarified for users. The required change is to change the url from http://... to https://...

Cheers,
Pete
Pete Bradstreet
Contract developer of commercialized applications

AwareIM Ver. 8.2
Rennur
Posts: 1191
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:13 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by Rennur »

I assume changing this would not have any effect on the NON HTTPS environment
pbrad
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by pbrad »

That is correct.
Pete
Pete Bradstreet
Contract developer of commercialized applications

AwareIM Ver. 8.2
Post Reply