Upgrade client's BSV - Developer version of Aware IM

If you have questions or if you want to share your opinion about Aware IM post your message on this forum
robv

Upgrade client's BSV - Developer version of Aware IM

Post by robv »

Hi

I am a new Aware Im developer. I have a couple of questions particular to the developer version.

I need to install my Aware IM generated application at a client who is in another country. When I am finished with the installation / implementation and return to my home country, how do I upgrade the client to our next version without being on site?

Do I merely ship a new .bsv? If so - where does this .bsv get installed? And if this is the way, surely it is easy for a third party to "hack" the .bsv using their own config tool, make adjustments and then replace the original with a faulty version?

If I am required to recreate a new distribution setup - can I bypass supplying all the server stuff so that it is a small setup file.

I will appreciate any help.
Regards
Rob
tford

Post by tford »

Rob,

In your scenario, will the server that AwareIM is running on be on the internet or just an in house server on a LAN?

Tom
robv

Post by robv »

Hi Tom
It will be on a server on the lan. I may have Remote Access via Win Remote Desktop but not guaranteed cause it is a government agency and they get sticky about access. But if necessary I will ensure they give access.
Rob
aware_support

Post by aware_support »

You just need to publish a new BSV. You don't need to ship it because you can publish it remotely from the browser (just make sure that your configuration for administrator includes a command to publish a version in the menu).

If you have to ship it, you can password protect the BSV as well.
Aware IM Support Team
tford

Post by tford »

Rob,

Any new BSV that you make has a menu called Standard in the Visual Perspective (VP) called Administrator. I do not change this as it will allow for easy posting of new BSV versions.