Auto fill in

If you have questions or if you want to share your opinion about Aware IM post your message on this forum
geoff

Auto fill in

Post by geoff »

I'm sure this must have been answered sometime in the past, so bear with a complete novice:

I have A BO called ProductInfo which has 2 attributes: "Brand" and "Type"

Brand has its associated Type, arranged in 2 columns. Data is:

Brand Type
A A
B B
C C

etc

I want to use these attributes as inputs on another BO form called Main. Main has the attributes "Brands" and "Types" which are of Type ProductInfo.

So, how do I get the form to automatically fill in the other attribute for me? For example: If I drop down the Brand and choose, say, "A", I want the Type to automatically appear in the "Types" box as "A". and vice versa.

Your help would be greatly appreciated as my whole first project is based on this type of activity and hours of work have yielded nothing to my brain!
greg

Post by greg »

You can define Type attribute on your Main object as a shortcut and point it to ProductInfo.Type

greg
geoff

Auto Fillin

Post by geoff »

Thanks Greg - I tried that but once I select "Shortcut" type, the resulting dropdown only allows me to choose a path within the same BO (Main) and not into BO ProductInfo. I tried typing "ProductInfo.Type" as the path, but I got an error that the path is wrong.
greg

Post by greg »

Geoff,

Can you try to set up your Main.Brand as a drop down where you only select to display ProductInfo.Brand and Main.Type as a shortcut to ProductInfo.Type?

greg
Rem

Post by Rem »

I´m also stuck with this. I don´t know if it´s hard to explain the problem, because in think this should be easily done.

Hope someone has an answer. Have spent some days in the users manual but didn´t find anything.

I have customers and when I chose a specific customer I want the associated distance to that customer to appear automatically. (think it is the same qestion as geoff)

/Rem
PEFS

Post by PEFS »

Hey Rem,