Changed Values revert to Original after First Time Use

If you have questions or if you want to share your opinion about Aware IM post your message on this forum
ColinP

Changed Values revert to Original after First Time Use

Post by ColinP »

I am a newbie so forgive my ignorance.

I have a form based on a Business Object (BO1) with a grid for a related Business Object (BO2). BO2 contains a number of fields which are calculated with factors contained in BO2 as well as some contained in BO1. If the user changes on of the values of BO1 on the form I want to refresh the calculated fields in BO2. I have a number of Dynamic Rules set up to do these recalculations.

I had no success in making this process automatic, so I created a button on the BO1 form called 'Refresh' . When the user changed a value they had to hit 'Refresh' to recalculate all the values in the grid. (ultimately it would be my ambition to manage without the 'refresh' button, but it helped with design and testing)

This button calls a process and passes to it the instance of BO1. The process finds all the instances of BO2 and runs the actions UPDATE B01 and UPDATE BO2. The grid is set to auto-refresh when this process is run.

Under test the first time a factor is changed in BO1 the user is asked to confirm that they want to save the change and the new values are displayed in the grid. Perfect!

But if the parameter is changed again and Refresh is hit, this does not happen. Instead the changed value in BO1 merely returns to its previous value. The Test Log reveals that the Refresh process is running correctly, so the assumption is that it is using the old values in BO1.

Ovviously AwareIM will react the same way to the same situation, so something about the situation has changed. But what is it and how can I fix it?
Colin
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AwareIM 8.7 (Build3012) Windows Virtual Server Derby
BLOMASKY