URGENT No way to clear a Reference Value ? Bug? Bld 2711

If you have questions or if you want to share your opinion about Aware IM post your message on this forum
Post Reply
Jaymer
Posts: 1748
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

URGENT No way to clear a Reference Value ? Bug? Bld 2711

Post by Jaymer »

In this image below, how is a user supposed to clear the field once they set a value (like when they Edit the rec)?
Screen Shot 2019-12-17 at 10.27.11 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-12-17 at 10.27.11 PM.png (19.54 KiB) Viewed 1995 times
If I choose an option, there's not a "common sense"/obvious way for a user to clear the field.
It turns out that you CAN hit an ESC and it will clear it - however, you can't do that on a Tablet and, more importantly, you cannot on a popup-window (ESC closes the window).
But ESC isn't obvious.

So how is this supposed to be clearable?

Image 2 - here's 3 fields where I turned on the option "Include empty text in choices"
Screen Shot 2019-12-17 at 10.38.17 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-12-17 at 10.38.17 PM.png (38.34 KiB) Viewed 1995 times
You can see that all that did is add "undefined" at the bottom of the list?
What the hell good is that?
AND, in this case, I set all 3 fields to undefined and after the save, they reverted to the original values. So, it didn't work.

Certainly I'm missing the simple way for this to be accomplished.
thx
Last edited by Jaymer on Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:18 am, edited 4 times in total.
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum? Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
Jaymer
Posts: 1748
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: How does an End-User clear a Reference Value ? Bug?

Post by Jaymer »

a simple way to implement this (assuming there's not a way that I'm not aware of)...

https://www.awareim.com/forum/viewtopic ... 011#p52011

If this Icon was set to appear at the end of the field (like the "+" does when you enable "Generate Add New button"), then you simply enable this and set the icon to what makes sense for your users, and check the option for "Clear Field". Voila
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum? Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
Jaymer
Posts: 1748
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: URGENT How End-User clear a Reference Value ? Bug? Bld 2

Post by Jaymer »

I've got to come up with a solution to this. Any ideas?
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum? Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
PointsWell
Posts: 975
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 5:51 am
Location: 'Stralya

Re: URGENT How End-User clear a Reference Value ? Bug? Bld 2

Post by PointsWell »

Jaymer wrote:I've got to come up with a solution to this. Any ideas?
Set Undefined Text to '--Undefined' to filter to top of list
Jaymer
Posts: 1748
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: URGENT How End-User clear a Reference Value ? Bug? Bld 2

Post by Jaymer »

This just came up again.
After assigning a Department Contact, there's no way to clear it - THIS is in a POPUP, so the ESC will not work cause it closes the popup window.

I cannot set "--undefined" to the top choice (which was a non-starter for me anyway), esp. in this case because each Customer has their own Users of the system - so I'd need a "--undefined" as the name of an employee in EVERY customer who logs in.

We need a way to clear a reference value (shown here as Primary & Secondary) - OTHER the hitting the ESC key - NOT INTUITIVE,
and also does not work on a Popup.
Screen Shot 2020-01-12 at 11.12.54 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-01-12 at 11.12.54 PM.png (44.98 KiB) Viewed 1695 times
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum? Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
Post Reply