2 VIDEOs <ENTER> can create 2 Recs sometimes, click does 1

If you have questions or if you want to share your opinion about Aware IM post your message on this forum
Post Reply
Jaymer
Posts: 1996
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

2 VIDEOs <ENTER> can create 2 Recs sometimes, click does 1

Post by Jaymer »

Yes, i know, weird.

I've noticed this behavior since V7 a year ago.
I was on a customer's system (that I took over) and saw this behavior. The user always used a mouse so he never saw it.

I have a clear example in the video in current 8.1.
Add a new rec. Popup form comes up.
Click CREATE button makes 1 new record.
Enter on CREATE button sometimes makes 2 new records.
No way to know or predict.

https://www.flickr.com/gp/[email protected]/30J0od

--------
the button +Phone is a call to a Process
The process is this:

Code: Select all

ENTER NEW AgentNotes WITH 
AgentNotes.body='Phone Call', 
AgentNotes.FollowUp=CURRENT_DATE+7, 
AgentNotes.CreatedOn=CURRENT_TIMESTAMP, 
AgentNotes.ob_Lead=Lead, 
AgentNotes.ps_CreatedBy=LoggedInRegularUser 
USING 'Create'
Lead.DateLastActivity=CURRENT_DATE
 Lead.LastActivityType='Phone'
AgentNotes has 8 fields. No Rules. Very simple. Click the create button and it should just save a record and close the Popup.
A refresh rule makes the grid table refresh (I misspoke in the video).
Last edited by Jaymer on Fri Nov 15, 2019 5:41 am, edited 2 times in total.
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum? Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
ACDC
Posts: 1022
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: VIDEO <ENTER> can create 2 BOs sometimes, clicking does

Post by ACDC »

Yes, I have the same thing happening.

I have never seen it happen real-time. Users have reported the event and when investigating I have suspected the user pressed the create button twice. I thought it may have been my complex process at fault but couldn't understand the created datetimestamp were the same on both objects, I have been pulling my hair out on this one because it happens occasionally and could never recreate it

This video proves there is something lurking there, when the user inadvertently hits the enter button there is a duplication - wow this is a major discovery and a major Bug - THANK YOU. How do we resolve this

version 7.1
Jaymer
Posts: 1996
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: VIDEO <ENTER> can create 2 BOs sometimes, clicking does

Post by Jaymer »

LOL - of course you have to believe it must be Operator Error - because it doesn't seem like it can be true !
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum? Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
Jaymer
Posts: 1996
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: VIDEO <ENTER> can create 2 BOs sometimes, clicking does

Post by Jaymer »

Another capture.
Same App, Diff BO
native Windows on the server via RDP (previous was Mac) - both Chrome

this shows Tomcat Window and LOG to see whats happening

part 1: https://www.flickr.com/gp/[email protected]/12XeY9
part 2: https://www.flickr.com/gp/[email protected]/ve1fZ2
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum? Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
ACDC
Posts: 1022
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: 2 VIDEOs <ENTER> can create 2 BOs sometimes, clicking do

Post by ACDC »

Hi Jaymer

I was expecting to see a response from support here, did you have any direct communication with them?
Jaymer
Posts: 1996
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: 2 VIDEOs <ENTER> can create 2 BOs sometimes, clicking do

Post by Jaymer »

I have not heard anything, nor have I turned in any demonstration bsv.
I was planning on testing on something other than Chrome, but have not.
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum? Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
johntalbott
Posts: 614
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 11:16 pm
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Contact:

Re: 2 VIDEOs <ENTER> can create 2 BOs sometimes, clicking do

Post by johntalbott »

I wonder if the issue you reported has to do with this Kendo bug that was apparently fixed.

"Dialog action callback function is called twice when triggered with Enter key"

https://www.telerik.com/support/whats-n ... 2-2018-sp1
VocalDay Solutions - Agility - Predictability - Quality

We specialize in enabling business through the innovative use of technology.

Services:
-Web/Mobile App Design/Development
-Project Management - Agile, Scrum, Kanban
-Business Analysis
-Testing
Jaymer
Posts: 1996
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: 2 VIDEOs <ENTER> can create 2 BOs sometimes, clicking do

Post by Jaymer »

hmmmm, yes, i bet that is.

so, how to upgrade to Kendo UI R2 2018 SP1 ?
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum? Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
BenHayat
Posts: 2749
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 5:48 am
Location: Fla, USA
Contact:

Re: 2 VIDEOs <ENTER> can create 2 BOs sometimes, clicking do

Post by BenHayat »

Jaymer wrote:hmmmm, yes, i bet that is.

so, how to upgrade to Kendo UI R2 2018 SP1 ?
If your related bug is based on Kendo bug, support needs to install Kendo UI R2 2018 SP1 build 620 from Kendo Control panel, create a new Aware build with new library and gives us a new build. In fact that's what I did today, upgraded my Kendo to Build 620.
Jaymer
Posts: 1996
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: 2 VIDEOs <ENTER> can create 2 BOs sometimes, clicking do

Post by Jaymer »

has anyone heard if Aware will start shipping with the latest Kendo?
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum? Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
Jaymer
Posts: 1996
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: 2 VIDEOs <ENTER> can create 2 BOs sometimes, clicking do

Post by Jaymer »

BUMP _ This still happens for me on latest 8.3

And on a simple ENTER NEW xxx form.
Tab into the [Save] button and press <Enter> and you'll see the form get submitted to Aware TWICE - examine the Tomcat log and you can see all the fields get POSTed 2 times, so Aware creates 2 new instances.
Using <Space> to click the button does not duplicate the data.
This is on a Popup form.
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum? Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
ACDC
Posts: 1022
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: 2 VIDEOs <ENTER> can create 2 BOs sometimes, clicking do

Post by ACDC »

Jaymer wrote:BUMP _ This still happens for me on latest 8.3

And on a simple ENTER NEW xxx form.
Tab into the [Save] button and press <Enter> and you'll see the form get submitted to Aware TWICE - examine the Tomcat log and you can see all the fields get POSTed 2 times, so Aware creates 2 new instances.
Using <Space> to click the button does not duplicate the data.
This is on a Popup form.
This is a problem, especially if there are accounting entries such as Invoices.

Also there is no response forthcoming from support on this, maybe this should go to the Problem section in the forum or even a direct email

As a workaround, a rule on the object IF NEW ...could delete the duplicate by comparing a timestamp. its a hack but could resolve things while support finds a solution-- maybe also store the deleted record in a backup object for audit purpose.

Also, Is there any way to disable the Enter key on the form ?
Jaymer
Posts: 1996
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: 2 VIDEOs <ENTER> can create 2 Recs sometimes, click does

Post by Jaymer »

This only happens on a pop up form.

I have gotten in the habit to tab into the Save button and hit space bar to activate. and in one case changed the form to a non-pop up just to avoid the bug.
Click Here to see a collection of my tips & hacks on this forum? Or search for "JaymerTip" in the search bar at the top.

Jaymer
Aware Programming & Consulting - Tampa FL
Rem
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:58 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: 2 VIDEOs <ENTER> can create 2 Recs sometimes, click does

Post by Rem »

So, have you approached support with this issue?
Regards
Rune

Image
Post Reply