Aware IM User Forums Forum Index Aware IM User Forums
Discussions, questions, ideas, opinions about Aware IM
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Java
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aware IM User Forums Forum Index -> Tips and Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RocketRod



Joined: 06 Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Location: Melbourne

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 9:16 pm    Post subject: Java Reply with quote

Just deployed runtime executable to new 2008 R2 server and when I set the memory for AwareIm to 2048 I get 'Could not create the Java virtual machine' when I try and start AwareIM. Lower memory settings are ok. Any ideas? Using SQL Express.

Cheers Rod

Build 1446
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aware_support



Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 5241

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By default Aware IM comes with 32-bit Java, which is limited to 1Gb of memory. If you really want to use more memory you need to download 64-bit Java from the Java web site and get Aware IM to use that Java version instead.
_________________
Aware IM Support Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
RocketRod



Joined: 06 Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Location: Melbourne

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. Have now installed Java 64 bit. How do I get AwareIm to use it?

Cheers Rod
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aware_support



Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 5241

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The easiest would be to rename AwareIM/JDK to AwareIM/JDK32 and copy 64 bit JDK to the AwareIM/JDK directory.

You also need to rename AwareIM/Tomcat/shared/lib/tools.jar to tools32.jar and copy tools.jar from the 64bit JDK to AwareIM/Tomcat/shared/lib
_________________
Aware IM Support Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
RocketRod



Joined: 06 Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Location: Melbourne

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks support. Can't find 64 bit version of the tools.jar file. Do you know if I have to build it somehow or have I done something wrong on my 64 bit install?

Cheers Rod
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aware_support



Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 5241

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to download Java JDK (Java Development Kit), not JRE (Java Runtime Environment). tools.jar is part of JDK, but is not part of JRE
_________________
Aware IM Support Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
RocketRod



Joined: 06 Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Location: Melbourne

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the record what support suggested has worked. AwareIM operating on 64bit Java and I can set large memory settings now.

Cheers support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Powerm



Joined: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 310

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to proceed under OSX Lion ? I see Applications/AwareIM/Contents/Resources/Java/Tomcat/webapps/AwareIM but no JDK..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aware_support



Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 5241

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On Mac Aware IM does NOT include its own Java - it uses the Java version setup in the operating system. So if your current Java version is 64-bit then Aware IM should use it. You still need to copy the corresponding tools.jar as recommended in this thread
_________________
Aware IM Support Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Powerm



Joined: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 310

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No luck, from Apple website :


"tools.jar does not exist. Classes usually located here are instead included in classes.jar. Scripts that rely on the existence of tools.jar need to be rewritten accordingly."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aware_support



Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 5241

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then copy the classes.jar instead of the tools.jar
_________________
Aware IM Support Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fuseon



Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 114
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For anyone running AwareIM as a windows service with Java 64bit you may receive the following error in the Tomcat log:


STATUS | wrapper | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 | --> Wrapper Started as Service
STATUS | wrapper | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 | Launching a JVM...
INFO | jvm 1 | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 | Wrapper (Version 3.2.0) http://wrapper.tanukisoftware.org
INFO | jvm 1 | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 |
INFO | jvm 1 | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 |
INFO | jvm 1 | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 | WARNING - Unable to load the Wrapper's native library 'wrapper.dll'.
INFO | jvm 1 | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 | The file is located on the path at the following location but
INFO | jvm 1 | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 | could not be loaded:
INFO | jvm 1 | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 | C:\AwareIM\bin\..\Tomcat\lib\wrapper.dll
INFO | jvm 1 | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 | Please verify that the file is readable by the current user
INFO | jvm 1 | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 | and that the file has not been corrupted in any way.
INFO | jvm 1 | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 | One common cause of this problem is running a 32-bit version
INFO | jvm 1 | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 | of the Wrapper with a 64-bit version of Java, or vica versa.
INFO | jvm 1 | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 | This is a 64-bit JVM.
INFO | jvm 1 | 2012/03/08 16:44:44 | System signals will not be hand
led correctly.


I found an update for a 64bit version of the tanukisoftware wrapper here:

http://www.krenger.ch/blog/java-service-wrapper-3-5-7-for-windows-x64/

as the current version http://wrapper.tanukisoftware.com/doc/english/download.jsp#stable is not currently being made available in the Community Edition.

To implement the new wrapper I renamed the following:

C:\AwareIM\Tomcat\lib\wrapper.dll to wrapper32.dll
C:\AwareIM\Tomcat\lib\wrapper.jar to wrapper32.jar
C:\AwareIM\bin\wrapper.exe to wrapper32.exe

And copied the files (wrapper.dll, wrapper.jar, wrapper.exe) from the zip to the above locations.

I also had to create a logs directory under AwareIM as it was giving an error in the logs, it creates another wrapper.log file now in C:\AwareIM\logs, I think this is due to the location in the .conf files.

Everything is working fine now with Java 64bit.

Regards

Chris
_________________
Version 5.8 Build 1814 - Windows using MySql and SQL Server - 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddumas



Joined: 23 Apr 2013
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aware_support wrote:
The easiest would be to rename AwareIM/JDK to AwareIM/JDK32 and copy 64 bit JDK to the AwareIM/JDK directory.

You also need to rename AwareIM/Tomcat/shared/lib/tools.jar to tools32.jar and copy tools.jar from the 64bit JDK to AwareIM/Tomcat/shared/lib


I assume that this means:

1. rename the AwareIM/JDK to AwareIM/JDK32
2. Copy the AwareIM/JDK32 to AwareIM/JDK
#. Copy the contents inside the java JDK folder (all the folders and files) into the AwareIM/JDK, overwriting the preexisting AwareIM 32 bit folders / files with the same names.

Do the same process, but just with the 64 bit tools.jar

Restart Aware IM, and adjust memory settings, Ex. Make all options 512M memory.

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aware_support



Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 5241

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, this means exactly what it says - rename the JDK that comes with Aware IM and then create a new AwareIM/JDK folder and copy the entire 64-bit Java JDK into this folder.

Aware IM works with whatever is in the AwareIM/JDK folder. If it's 64-bit Java it will work with that. By default it comes with 32-bit Java which is placed in AwareIM/JDK
_________________
Aware IM Support Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ddumas



Joined: 23 Apr 2013
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aware_support wrote:
No, this means exactly what it says - rename the JDK that comes with Aware IM and then create a new AwareIM/JDK folder and copy the entire 64-bit Java JDK into this folder.

Aware IM works with whatever is in the AwareIM/JDK folder. If it's 64-bit Java it will work with that. By default it comes with 32-bit Java which is placed in AwareIM/JDK


Ok, did just that - works. So, for the control panel settings for memory (server, tomcat, jboss, config tool) should I set them all to 512 Mb ?

I have a windows 8 laptop w/8gb memory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aware IM User Forums Forum Index -> Tips and Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group