Audit Records

Contains tips for configurators working with Aware IM
PEFS

Audit Records

Post by PEFS »

Hello Aware IM,

I am the proud new owner of your product and have been having a great time developing web applications.

I have several apps that I would like to web enable. Many of these apps have code incorporated to capture the navigational movements of my administrators and the details of any changes.

The detail audit table has the following data:

Object Modified (Business Object)
Object Field Modified (Attribute)
Object Field Reference (ID, Name...etc)
Date/Time Modified
Type of Activity (Addition, Delete, Append, Update)
Original Data
Modified Data
User who Modified Record

From what I can tell this should be possible in Aware IM but since I am new at this I have not been able to make this work yet.

As you can imagine my audit tables have been very large in the past because it tracked everything that was added and deleted (as well as, updates to a record).

I hope that you can help me.

Thank you,

PEFS
aware_support2

Post by aware_support2 »

Hello PEFS,

There are many ways to capture change history. I will describe a generic approach, which you can extend depending on the depth of information you want to record.

Object AuditTrail keeps a single change event and has the following attributes:
Name: MadeOn, Type: Timestamp, Initial value: CURRENT_TIMESTAMP
Name: MadeBy, Type: SystemUser
Name: ObjectID, Type: Number
Name: Description, Type: Text

To capture a change to a particular attribute, add a rule like the following to the object of interest (Person in this example):

If NOT(Person IS NEW) AND Person.DateOfBirth WAS CHANGED
Then CREATE AuditTrail WITH AuditTrail.MadeBy = LoggedInSystemUser, AuditTrail.ObjectID = Person.ID, AuditTrail.Description = 'Changed DateOfBirth on Person from <<OLD_VALUE(Person.DateOfBirth)>> to <<Person.DateOfBirth>>'

To capture creation of a new object, add a rule like this:

If Person IS NEW