Transpose process -kind of

If you have questions or if you want to share your opinion about Aware IM post your message on this forum
Post Reply
weblike
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: Europe

Transpose process -kind of

Post by weblike »

Hi,

Never used graphs in Aware before, but watched the new beautiful kendo graphs and I want to give it a try.

I want to start with something simple, of course simple for some of you.

I have a BO with tableA (image bellow) and I want to create a process which populates a BO like in table B(image bellow):
(headers of the tables are attributes form these BO's)
Any suggestion will be much appreciated.
Attachments
Selection_093.png
Selection_093.png (26.78 KiB) Viewed 6665 times
Thx,
George
________________________________
Developer Edition
AwareIM: v8.5, build 2824
OS: Windows Server 2012
DB: MySql 5.6.42
BenHayat
Posts: 2749
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 5:48 am
Location: Fla, USA
Contact:

Re: Transpose process -kind of

Post by BenHayat »

The first point that comes to mind is the "Currency". In Table B (Or Bo_B), you have 3 STATIC currency Attributes (USD, EUR and GBR).

Q) Are these 3 values (USD, EUR and GBR) static values in Tabla A as well? Another words, users only have these 3 values to select? If yes, then it very simple to do.
If those values in Table A is dynamic , then it gets more difficult to do when you have STATIC attributes in Table B.

Secondly, you should have your Table A sorted by:
Date
Currency

When looping through.
weblike
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: Europe

Re: Transpose process -kind of

Post by weblike »

Attributes in table A are static.
Thx,
George
________________________________
Developer Edition
AwareIM: v8.5, build 2824
OS: Windows Server 2012
DB: MySql 5.6.42
BenHayat
Posts: 2749
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 5:48 am
Location: Fla, USA
Contact:

Re: Transpose process -kind of

Post by BenHayat »

weblike wrote:Attributes in table A are static.
I was asking if the "Values" in Currency Attribute is STATIC and not the Attributes in Table A.
weblike
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: Europe

Re: Transpose process -kind of

Post by weblike »

Yes they are static. Sorry for confusion.
Thx,
George
________________________________
Developer Edition
AwareIM: v8.5, build 2824
OS: Windows Server 2012
DB: MySql 5.6.42
johntalbott
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 11:16 pm
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Contact:

Re: Transpose process -kind of

Post by johntalbott »

Is the only purpose of BO B to populate your chart? If so, there are other approaches to consider.
VocalDay Solutions - Agility - Predictability - Quality

We specialize in enabling business through the innovative use of technology.

AwareIM app with beautiful UI/UX - https://screencast-o-matic.com/watch/crfUrrVeB3t
weblike
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: Europe

Re: Transpose process -kind of

Post by weblike »

yes the only purpose
Thx,
George
________________________________
Developer Edition
AwareIM: v8.5, build 2824
OS: Windows Server 2012
DB: MySql 5.6.42
johntalbott
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 11:16 pm
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Contact:

Re: Transpose process -kind of

Post by johntalbott »

I suggest using SQL to create your query code or a stored procedure that you call from the query. Then you can avoid creating a BO that really does nothing.

Are you familiar with SQL?
VocalDay Solutions - Agility - Predictability - Quality

We specialize in enabling business through the innovative use of technology.

AwareIM app with beautiful UI/UX - https://screencast-o-matic.com/watch/crfUrrVeB3t
weblike
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: Europe

Re: Transpose process -kind of

Post by weblike »

Hi John,

Yes I'm familiar with SQL, but tried to avoid that.

thx,
Thx,
George
________________________________
Developer Edition
AwareIM: v8.5, build 2824
OS: Windows Server 2012
DB: MySql 5.6.42
tford
Posts: 4238
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Transpose process -kind of

Post by tford »

You can easily set up a self maintaining BOs with rules.

1) Rule for Table A:
..... a) check to see if a value exists in Table B for a particular date
..... b) add an instance in Table B if one does not exist

2) Rules for Table B:
..... a) FIND record in Table A with EUR value for this date & update into Table B EUR attribute
..... b) FIND record in Table A with USD value for this date & update into Table B USD attribute
..... c) FIND record in Table A with GBP value for this date & update into Table B USD attribute

With rules like this Table B will always be up to date.
Tom - V8.8 build 3137 - MySql / PostGres
Post Reply